Your kidding me…

3 08 2012

Computerised spell check.

It annoys me.

As far as I’m concerned, it’s just an excuse for people to be lazy.

What annoys me even more is the lack of it.

Let me explain.

I’ve been dealing a lot with questions to an online competition.

People fill in their question and fire off the response.

With the online form there is no spell check.

So of course, people do not check their own response.

For example, in one very long sentence, one person made the following typos:

Starting the sentence “hey there” – no capital H at the start of the sentence

Use of i rather than I. Twice.

i\’d rather than I’d

id rather than I’d

havnt rather than haven’t

recieved rather than received

It’s just sheer laziness.

And this is just one of many examples.

For me this is also indicative of one of the problems the UK faces.

A population of lazy people who expect everything to be done for them.

Another one of my sweeping generalisations, I know.

This is where my rant finishes.

And before you ask / are desperate to point it out, yes I know…

Actions

Information

6 responses

3 08 2012
Mondrak

this is to true so many people dont bother with any form of punctuation as phones fix it and so does microsoft word or open office its plain ridiculous

And do you know how difficult it was for me to write that? LOL I had to go back and remove the apostrophe from don’t lol

6 08 2012
Frankwell

Standards are changing rapidly, you just have to read the Oxford Dictionary to realise that. You’ll probably find punctuation is removed completely in 50 years time!

6 08 2012
Mondrak

That is all too true. Or, you have people who try to rip your blog apart and fail miserably. 😀 Good response on your comments,

The one thing I always try to not put in any of my posts or responses, are the words “get” and “got”. When I was at school (it’s been nearly 30 years since I left) there were a couple of things that I remember the English teachers saying: “If you use get or got, you have got lazy are getting a D” so now I always look for ways around those words. Not that I expect other people to.

I will admit that I have become lazy myself and don’t use all of the punctuation that I should.

6 08 2012
Frankwell

It’s too easy to be lazy and I’m an offender as much as the next person. We weren’t really taught anything beyond verbs and nouns at school, that’s my excuse!

3 08 2012
There is always a greater pedant.

‘Computerised spell check.’ This has no verb and cannot form a sentence. Perhaps this was your sub heading?

‘Let me explain.’ Yes this is a sentence, but when used in this context you probably would be more correct with a colon.

‘Use of i rather than I. Twice.’ ‘Twice’ is not a sentence and thus cannot stand alone. You might want to look into what semi-colons do.

‘For example, in one very long sentence, one person made the following typos:

Starting the sentence “hey there” – no capital H at the start of the sentence

Use of i rather than I. Twice.

i\’d rather than I’d

id rather than I’d

havnt rather than haven’t

recieved rather than received ‘

See, you know how to use a colon! However, you appear to have missed off the comma/ semi-colon for each clause and the final full stop.

But then, perhaps, you are probably too lazy to check a simple blog post.

6 08 2012
Frankwell

An interesting challenge to my blog that put a smile on my face! I like the subject title you wrote, so true.

So to address the points you made. When writing a blog you can in fact write in fragments rather than writing a complete sentence (as per my style throughout my blog as you would have seen). I agree, a sentence needs a verb and subject to be complete but there are always exceptions to the rule. This also allows for flexibility in the use of semicolons.

There are no hard and fast rules anymore when it comes to bullet points, only guides. You don’t, as you state, need to use commas or semicolons at the end of each bullet point.

I’m a big fan of sarcasm but you have rather neatly demonstrated whilst making lazy mistakes yourself, the issue at the heart of the blog.

No doubt I will make plenty of mistakes along the way. But I’d hope to learn from them, unlike the people that my blog was pointing a walking stick at (and yes it’s ok to end a sentence on a preposition).

Thanks for stopping by nonetheless!

Leave a random Reply

