My Great Uncle’s 60th birthday…

30 09 2012

I’ve been really looking forward to my first trip abroad. Apparently we went to the Maldives when I was in my Mummy’s tummy but I didn’t see any of that so it does not count. Daddy said it was going to be a big trip to France because it was my Great Uncle Jeremy’s 60th birthday and we had lots of family and friends coming over. 60 is very old and I think he must have been born in black and white times.

We had to catch a very early flight so I went to bed nice and early. I was woken up a few seconds later by my Daddy at 4am doing an impression of me crying. I was not happy about that and he said something about revenge. We got up and got on a big train and made our way to the airport. I don’t really remember much after that because I like going to sleep when I travel without moving.

I woke up in France in a little town called Pons. We thought we were the first ones there but Great Uncle Jonty had already arrived. For some silly reason he had cycled all the way from his house in England so I think that was why he smelled a bit. Not long after that everyone started to arrive and it got a bit loud. Luckily for me someone my own age turned up so that meant I did not have to look after all the grown ups by myself. I was a bit unsure of her at first but she had a nice smile so that made me happy.

All sorts of things happened during our stay. I remember one morning when Mummy was pushing me around the garden, there were lots of grown-ups dancing about looking very tired and hot. Mummy said that my Auntie Caroline was taking a fun exercise class but it looked like a few of the grown-ups had not done anything like that before and had very troubled looks on their faces and were not having fun.

One day there was something called the Olympics. There was an egg and spoon race, a baguette relay, swimming, a croissant chuck, sit down volleyball and a Rocky Horror dance off, whatever that is. I was happy sitting in my pushchair watching the grown-ups getting very loud and tired. Daddy was very happy because his team won but one man with hair on his face was upset because he said he was robbed. I don’t know what was stolen but I hope they caught the nasty man responsible. Daddy’s trophy was strange because it looked so small in his hands but it was as big as my head.

A lot of the men got very excited on another day because they were going to cart something but I’m not sure what that meant. I do know that it was very noisy. Daddy said I was too young to join in so I went to sleep.

Mummy had a special day because it was her birthday and I helped her open some presents. We had a trip to the beach with my Uncle Ben and Auntie Victoria and it was the biggest beach I had ever seen. Daddy must have thought my feet were dirty because he kept dunking them in the sea. Even though I screamed to tell him it was too cold he kept doing it. He forgot to test the temperature with his elbow.

On other days I had my first ever go on a swing which was lots of fun, had a splash in a little pool with my cousin, drove my first car and was sick all over Daddy’s face because he played aeroplanes with me.

My favourite day was when Mummy dressed me up in a red muslin and said that I was now called “More Glee” for some reason. I think I prefer Joshua. I heard a few grown-ups say that there was a Jungle Book fancy dress party because my Great Uncle Jeremy was a big fan of the loo. Very strange. There were lots of pretty clothes but the best was my Uncle Ben because he looked just like me. It was all very tiring.

I had lots of fun and I can’t wait for my next holiday, especially when Great Uncle Jeremy pays as I don’t have any money.

All that typing has made my little hands tired so I’m going to bed. Night night x

Actions

Information

Leave a random Reply

