Work from home parents, I salute you…

18 06 2013

How do you do it?

Emails flying in like a flock of starlings. <edit – a murmuration apparently.>

Aircraft coming in to land.

Phones chiming like crickets on a sunny day.

What sounds like the call to prayer emanating from the beast in the corner.

Work that needs doing yesterday.

A grunting noise that means another behemoth of a poo is rearing its ugly head.

Research for interviews.

Squeals demanding attention.

Hungry cries.

And all this before 9am.

I don’t know how people can work from home when there’s a little rug rat pulling at your trousers, burying his six tiny razor like teeth into your thigh while you tap tap tap at your computer.

All I know is, you’re veterans of a war I simply don’t want to endure.

And for that, I salute you.

Now where’s that baby gone…

The eyes scream mischief.

The eyes scream mischief.

Actions

Information

12 responses

18 06 2013
Alastair

A grunting noise that means another behemoth of a poo is rearing its ugly head.
Should be
A grunting noise that means another behemoth of a poo is rearing its turtle head. hehehehe

Sorry, couldn’t resist

18 06 2013
Frankwell

Good point, can’t believe I missed that one!

18 06 2013
Alastair

My answer …. Play pen

18 06 2013
Frankwell

for me to escape, I agree!

19 06 2013
Browsing the Atlas

So true. It’s almost impossible to WFH when the kids are little. Then, when they get older, they don’t seem to understand that you’re working and act like you’re as free as they are. Sometimes it’s just easier to go into the office.

19 06 2013
Frankwell

After finishing my work late at night, I wish I had run away back to the office. Never thought I’d say that!

10 07 2013
Tash Thomas

Hahaha! Funny. Been there done that! My eldest rug-rat turned 18 this week and my youngest of four children is 9 already. Tip for you….when you see them doing something naughty, but they don’t know you have seen them, decide how important it is for you to repremand. If it’s just not that important, and they’re not in any danger, don’t ‘discover the naughtiness’ until a time that is more convenient for you to deal with it.

21 08 2013
Frankwell

It’s funny you should say that, I’ve started believing in the whole picking your battles scenario and it seems to work. Sorry for the late reply!

21 08 2013
Tash... just Tash!

Yes it really does make the job easier!

10 07 2013
Tash Thomas

Another tip is to find a secret hiding spot. Mine was the walk in pantry. It was like my private little refuge. Gave me a few minutes of peace while the kids went searching for me!!

21 08 2013
Frankwell

Good idea! Might dig a hole in the garden…

21 08 2013
Tash... just Tash!

Hilarious! I love it- like a dug out bunker ready for the missile attack

Leave a random Reply

