A bank holiday in Cornwall…

30 08 2013

I drove down to Cornwall on Friday night.

JJ asleep in the back.

Wifey asleep in the front.

Four hour journey ahead.

It’s good to have intelligent conversation en route to keep me awake.

It’s a pig of a journey as all the nice scenery to enjoy is blanketed by night by the time you get there.

But the journey is always worthwhile.

I introduced the in-laws to Geocaching (explanatory blog to eventually follow).

We went to Carn Marth, which is on their doorstep, had a few geocaches and supplies stunning views of the local area.

I forgot to take photos as I was caught up in the geocaching.

Next time.

We found four so it was a good introduction and further fueled my addiction.

We also celebrated my in-laws Ruby wedding anniversary – no mean feat by today’s standards.

A really nice meal with friends and family to celebrate an awesome achievement at the Treleigh Armsย near Redruth.

I found out that there was a geocache where we were eating so the boys snuck off after the meal to locate it with success.

But, we didn’t take my mother-in-law.

A mistake not to be repeated.

We also went to Tehidy Woodsย for a walk as mentioned in a previous blog.

A beautiful place that links up to the North coast of Cornwall.

There were some geocaches in the local area but we didn’t find any unfortunately.

We also took the kids to a really nice local park called Heartlands which I recommend.

It has a park and an old mining complex.

And a geocache.

You beginning to get the idea?

Anyway, a selection of photos from our trip.

If you haven’t been to the area, why not?

Actions

Information

8 responses

30 08 2013
Alastair

Great shots ๐Ÿ™‚

30 08 2013
Frankwell

Thanks!

30 08 2013
Browsing the Atlas

Looks and sounds like a lot of fun. My son and I keep talking about geocaching, but have yet to actually go out and do it. Meanwhile, I entertain myself searching for books released on Bookcrossing. I don’t need coordinates, just addresses. ๐Ÿ˜‰

30 08 2013
Frankwell

You should do it! You’ll be surprised how many geocaches there are potentially on your doorstep. It’s good fun and very satisfying when you find one. Good luck!

30 08 2013
chrisstov

Nice set of pictures.

3 09 2013
Frankwell

Thanks!

4 09 2013
adinparadise

Great photos. I really enjoyed Cornwall last month. ๐Ÿ™‚

5 09 2013
Frankwell

Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a great place and close to my heart. Could happily move there.

Leave a random Reply

