Been dazed and confused…

3 10 2014

It’s that time of the year sports fans!

The NFL is back (click here for a little nostalgia) and kicked off with the Oakland Raiders taking on the Miami Dolphins last weekend.

The powers that be closed off Regent Street to traffic on the Saturday so that all the fans and unsuspecting shoppers could immerse themselves in all things American Football before gameday.

There was a stage with live music, cheerleaders, players, managers, commentators – you get the idea.

Dotted all up the street were various activities such as giveaways, team information, face painting and games.

My brother-in-law and I have a competition each year with these games.

There’s a throw the ball through the hole game.

A kick the ball through the hole game.

A snap the ball through the hole game.

etc.

But this year there was a kick the ball as hard as you can game.

Excellent.

The prize for the ‘longest kick’ was VIP tickets to the game and the score reset each hour.

So we stepped up and had a go.

The game was contained within a 2m cube – rigid metal frame with netting to keep the ball inside.

A girl would put the ball on a small cone, you’d line up and then blast it as hard as you could with three attempts.

Simple.

Nothing could go wrong.

That is, until I stepped up.

The first two attempts were good but unfortunately the sensor did not pick up the speed (too quick obviously).

I wound up like a tightly coiled spring for my last shot at glory.

Even if I do say so myself, I put a lot of power through the ball.

The ball took off with the ferocity of space shuttle taking off.

It struck the metal frame, obviously didn’t get over the ball enough, and rebounded straight back towards the crowd.

Fortunately it didn’t reach the crowd.

Unfortunately the ball girl’s face stopped it from reaching the crowd.

She wobbled about like the Led Zeppelin tune, said she was fine and tried to carry on.

Reminded me of this.

Racked with guilt I tried to apologise but she had no idea where she was or what was going on.

I met up with her at Wembley Stadium on gameday as the event was being run there too.

She eased my guilt when she said that it was obviously not my fault and was just an accident.

Her make-up was a little heavier across the nose and eyes.

Oops.

Aside from that, it was a great weekend!

Didn’t have my camera with me this year, so here’s some random camera phone shots.

We were sober, honest.

Actions

Information

5 responses

3 10 2014
thefoodandwinehedonist

Is Hooters already in UK? Or don’t need to apologize in behalf of my country for exporting that for the weekend? (The food, of course, not the charming ladies.)

4 10 2014
Frankwell

It was just a one off. My guilty pleasure is chicken wings so I got drawn in, but they were a let down 😦

4 10 2014
Frankwell

Thinking, do you have a good recipe for wings?!

6 10 2014
thefoodandwinehedonist

Nothing special . I’ve tried cooking them a few different ways, but the best is still dust them with flour and deep fry. I don’t make them enough to experiment with the sauces. I made a few of these sauces and they turned out great – http://www.nytimes.com/2013/09/01/magazine/the-key-to-a-truly-great-chicken-wing.html?_r=0

6 10 2014
Frankwell

Excellent, thanks for sending me that link. Will investigate immediately!

Leave a random Reply

